Winky D promises a surprise today after winning People's Choice Award at 2020 NAMA Awards

vantunews 2nd March, 2020 #Winky D #Winky D Njema #Zimdancehall #Nama 2020 Awards
Winky D promises a surprise today after winning People's Choice Award at 2020 NAMA Awards

Popular zimdancehall star Winky D won the People's Choice Award at the 2020  National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) Awards held in Harare on Saturday. South Africa based actress Mbo Mahocs hosted the show. Highlights included the Lifetime Achievement Award to Ambuya Stella Chiweshe, Tamy Moyo won her first ever major award for Best Female Musician ahead of firm favourite Janet Manyowa and Ammara Brown.

Willis Wataffi won the Outstanding Album for Uhuru while Flying Bantu won the Oustanding Music Video award. Sports and Culture minister Kirsty Coventry attended the event with her husband.

Winky D who is still enjoy the success of his recent album Njema launched on New Year's Eve took to Facebook to thank his fans for voting for him. In order to thank the fans for the award Winky D promised to unveil a surprise gift today at 12:00 pm Zimbabwean time.

"I would like to express my undying gratitude,and, indebtedness to all the great people who continue to add their loud, credible and valuable voices through voting for Winky D to be the all weather Musical People’s Choice. NAMA 2019 has the Gafa name engraved on the People’s Choice gong, yet again. I acknowledge with deep respect, the infinite confidence you have reposed in the Gafa musical journey. I am encouraged to continue placing rich musical roots in the souls of your support. This time around,l am honouring your support through a special online surprise like never before. This experience will be duly granted to you at midday(12pm),Zimbabwean time, tomorrow 2 March2020.#haisikidsgame"

Jah Prayzah was among the artists the performed at the awards. He performed his hit song Sadza Nemuriwo.

Full List of NAMA 2020 Award Winners below:

Outstanding Newcomer

  • Ishan

Outstanding Female Musician

  • Tamy Moyo
  • Janet Manyowa
  • Ammara Brown

Outstanding Male Musician

  • Ti Gonzi
  • Winky D
  • Mambo Dhuterere

Outstanding Song

  • ‘Kure’ – Ishan ft. Ti Gonzi
  • ‘Ngaibake’ – Freeman ft. Alick Macheso
  • ‘Mugarden’ – Winky D ft. Gemma Griffiths
  • ‘Mweya Ndisesekedze’ – Mambo Dhuterere

Outstanding Album

  • Uhuru – Willis Wataffi
  • Dare Guru – Mambo Dhuterere
  • Gango – Freeman

Outstanding Music Video

  • ‘Sunshine City’ – Flying Bantu
  • ‘Tichichema’ – Amara Brown
  • ‘Kure’ (remix) – Ishan
  • ‘Bless’ – Ammy and The Calamities

Outstanding Fiction Book

  • Out of Darkness, Shining Light – Petina Gappah 
  • Shasha Dzokurera – Marcilyn Mugariri
  • Chasing the Wind – Phillip Chidavaenzi
  • Itai – Abraham Makamera
  • Mazai Emheni – Daniel Mutendi
  • Songs of the Little Creature – Phumulani Chipandambira
  • Chitima Nditakure – Oscar Gwiriri
  • Kuku Wins the President’s Clean Environment Award – Aleck Kaposa

Outstanding First Creative Published Book

  • A People’s Fight – Fradreck Hombiro
  • Hatiponi – Oscar Gwiriri
  • Nharo Dzemusango – Chenjerai Mazambani

Outstanding Female Dance

  • Dadirai Mupandawana – Ezimnyama Dance Group
  • Michelle Msopero – Sobahle
  • Lynsey Nyamakwenje – Infinite Possibilities

Outstanding Male Dancer

  • Selemani Mpochi – Ochestra Mberikwazvo
  • Tawanda Tanaka Fireyi – My journey to the International Scene
  • Tichaona Chikara – Hero’s +

Outstanding Actress

  • Charmaine Mudau – Another Wedding
  • Antoinette Sango – Mandla
  • Sarah Mpofu Sibanda – Home Affairs

Outstanding Screen Production (Television Series)

  • Muzita Rababa – Shem Zemura
  • Dudzai – Farai Mungoshi
  • Mandla – Solomon Mandaza
  • Pink and Purple – Mthabisi Onias Ndlovu

Outstanding Screen Production – Short Film

  • Redefining the Road – Tapiwa Gambira
  • The Call – Godfrey Chivese
  • Home Affairs – Elton Sibanda

Outstanding Mix Media Work

  • Distorted History – Anthony Bumhira
  • Kurima Hohwa – Victor Nyakauru
  • Rehab Queen – Calvin Chimutuwah

Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work

  • Cyclone Idai where is Mommy? – Calvin Chimutuwah
  • Revolutionary Freshness – Talent Kapadza
  • Focusing on Green Economy – Webster Mubayirenyi

Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work

  • Tribute to the mother of generations – Stanley Mutanga
  • My Sister Loves Me – Rufaro Murenza
  • Ancestral Family – Nichodimus T. Mutasa

Outstanding Exhibition

  • Pieces for Peace, Pieces, Revolutionary Freshness – Talent Kapadza & Schuma Herscovitz
  • Purple Rhythm – Calvin and Prudence Chimutuwah
  • Engaging the 45th Year – Helen Leroys
  • Tafadzwa Kachiko – Newsday
  • Kundai Marunya – Herald
  • Prince Tungamirai Mushawevato – Sunday Mail

Outstanding Journalist (TV)

  • Masceline Bondamakara – ZBC
  • Patience Nyagato – ZBC
  • Alexio Gwenzi – ZBC

Outstanding Journalist Radio

  • Anesu Masamvu – ZiFM
  • Yvonne Tivatye – Star FM
  • Thulani Munyandu – National FM

Outstanding Online Media

  • Zimcelebs
  • 3 Men on a Boat

Outstanding Comedian

  • Long John
  • MaForty
  • Andrew Manyika

Outstanding Poet

  • Sithembile Siqhoza Ndebele
  • Tanaka Effort Chuma
  • Tatenda Murigo

Outstanding Actor (Film and TV)

  • Percy Soko – Mandla
  • Godfrey Chivese – The Call
  • Brian Chitongo – Kuchina the Genesis

Outstanding Actress (Film and TV)

  • Antoinette Sango – Mandla
  • Charmaine Mudau – Another wedding
  • Sarah Mpofu Sibanda – Home Affairs

Outstanding Screen Production (TV)

  • Mandla – Solomon Mandaza
  • Muzita Rababa – Shem Zemura
  • Dudzai – Farai Mungoshi
  • Pink and Purple – Mthabisi Onias Ndlovu

Outstanding Screen Production (Short Film)

  • Redefining the Road – Tapiwa Gambura
  • The Call – Godfrey Chivese
  • Home Affairs – Elton Sibanda

Outstanding Screen Production (Full-length Film)

  • Stay with Me – Nick Zemura
  • S’mbimbindo 3 – Von Tavaziva
  • $400 – Kudzai Chikomo

Artist in the Diaspora

  • Vusa Mkhaya
  • Charlie Kay
  • Gemma Griffiths
  • Norah Chipaumire

Outstanding Promoter of the Year

  • D & G Promotions
  • Big Scale Entertainment
  • Ngoma NeHosho

Personality of the Year


Service to the Arts Award

  • Solomon Guramatunhu

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Stella Chiweshe

People’s Choice Award

  • Winky D